I Found My Calling – Tourist Town Photographer

Carolina Beach Fishing Pier at sunrise
Carolina Beach Fishing Pier at sunrise

A while ago I had posted I was excepted into art gallery in Southport.  I had brought several  photography prints for her to look at and she put aside the photos I thought she would use.  Instead she put the ones she like in from of me.  I was kind of disappointed, because I love the other photos and they had won awards.  Then I came to my senses and figured she knew what she was talking about, and after all its her gallery and she’s there everyday.

Now I listen to what she suggests to me.  Southport is a small tourist town it was suggested the tourist like items as souvenir’s or memento’s that are easy to take home with them. Taking photos of a local town is fun, however, the photo selected can be limited.  That’s when you have to become creative.  This is a challenge and I love challenges.

The owner of the gallery explained to me some of the ways to make money.  First don’t suggestion is do not spend a lot of money on frames and make them medium to small. The largest I sold was a 11×14  and the others were 8×10 down to 4×6. Secondly, spending less on supplies for my prints and making smaller prints in quantity would be more beneficial.  One gentleman came in and was delightfully surprised to see a nicely framed 5×7 photo of a restaurant he ate at – he just adored that restaurant.  He snap up the frame and paid instantly for it.

I hurried over to the thrift shop and bought a few frames from 4×6 to 5×7 and a couple of 8×10’s for a few bucks.  Then I took them home and repainted them.  They look brand new!  Start of my new adventure.

One thought on “I Found My Calling – Tourist Town Photographer

Add yours

  1. Good to know about what sells. I live in a small town in New Jersey that doesn’t have the charm of a seaside town, but does have a lot of streams, brooks, and mountain views. I spend a lot of time outdoors and would love to sell something to help defray the cost of my hobby.

    Like

Thank you for your comment - i will reply as soon as I can.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

